Carmen Zirngibl

Facts

Designerin: Carmen Zirngibl
Label: MCL I coffee dregs
Field: Upcycling Design
Founded: 2015
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Website: mycookerylog.wordpress.com

What are MCL I Coffee Dregs?

The My Cookery Log® I coffee dregs editions stand for design products made using the waste that is produced when you make coffee – used coffee grounds.

Home accessories such as bowls and lamps made from coffee grounds – the MCL® I coffee dregs – represent formal archaic-organic design. The natural brown nuances from the coffee grounds mixed with the precious copper coating and gilding give the objects a puristic touch. Each piece is a one-of-a-kind, not only because the starting product is a natural one that can slightly differ in colour, but also because each piece is hand-made, allowing the shape to be newly molded each time.

Upcycling –Advanced Recycling

At the end of the 20th century, recycling, meaning the re-use of waste products or the production of other products (generally of lesser quality) stood for sustainability. Now, well into the 21st century we have seen the logical advancement of the concept of recycling in the establishment of upcycling, which is the production of new, environmentally friendly and aesthetically pleasing objects of utility made from waste, therefore creating new value while simultaneously reducing waste and being mindful of how we use resources.

Tried and true are the attempts to make new products out of used plastic, clothing or paper. But what about the waste that is produced daily in the kitchen? Can we take organic kitchen waste and not only compost it, or recycle it in other words, but also possibly upcycle it and make objects out of it that you can use in daily life?

This question kept nagging at me and in the spring of 2015 I finally started a project with the goal of making sustainable, beautiful objects out of used coffee grounds.

The Concept of Upcycling Organic Material

At first glance, organic waste that is produced in the kitchen can be composted and used as fertilizer at best. That’s the destiny, if you will, of organic material, namely to decay and become a nutrient for the growth of new material.

Everyday, large amounts of used coffee grounds are “produced”. The production and transport of coffee beans uses large amounts of valuable resources such as water and electricity. It only takes a couple of minutes to brew and enjoy a cup of coffee. There is still a lot of valuable ingredients in coffee that make it a great fertiliser, and yet the “life span” of coffee bears no relation to the amount of energy that goes into making it.

Can we maybe insert a functional intermediate step for the coffee grounds before composting it, which besides upgrading the material would live up to standards of sustainability and aesthetics? These were the key ideas I had in mind when I decided to take used coffee grounds to develop sustainable everyday design.

From the very beginning it was clear that the coffee grounds should be complemented by natural binding agents, ideally also waste products that could be used to shape the coffee grounds and harden the products with the least possible energy expenditure. At the same time, the products should still be able to be composted.

MCL® l coffee dregs – Bowls and Lamps Made of Used Coffee Grounds

The challenge in realising the MCL l coffee dregs project was, first of all, developing the formula for binding the coffee grounds. Second of all, there had to be a process to stabilise and solidify the products, keeping in mind that these design products were to be used in everyday life.

As a biologist, this phase of the process was especially exciting because I was able to let my creativity flow, connecting it in the most interesting ways with my background in natural sciences.

In the summer of 2015 I presented the first collection, MCL l coffee dregs edition N°1, which consisted of various decorative bowls. Since then, the I have continually optimised the production process and have come up with further ideas for how to make new pieces out of used coffee grounds.

In the summer of 2016, the MCL l coffee dregs edition N°2 – Lichtblicke aus Kaffeesatz (in English: Coffee Grounds’ Silver Lining) came out, which presented lamps out of coffee grounds. The ‘Wende-Lampen’, or turning lamps, which is a brass base, can be screwed onto the lamp from both sides and is the logical continuation of the idea of using organic material to make sustainable design products.

A number of MCL l coffee dregs pieces are hand-made and one-of-a-kinds due to the fact that used coffee grounds are a natural product and that they are never exactly the same, taking on different colour nuances and textures. The one thing that stays the same, however, is the responsible use of the resources so that the products can always be composted at the end of their new life phase and therefore fulfill its other function as fertiliser. That way, the coffee grounds can help new things grow, once again coming full circle, very much in the spirit of the sustainable advancements of 21st century recycling.

All photos by Carmen Zirngibl

Ministerium NRW

cnr_logo_ohne-rand

Author

Carmen Zirngibl

Carmen Zirngibl is a scientist who dedicates herself to the ways sustainable and aesthetically pleasing design pieces can be made from organic material that is produced as waste in the kitchen. Her first project – upcycling used coffee grounds – was realised in her product line MCL I coffee dregs.

More articles

ecosign

The ecosign is a private and independent academy in Cologne-Ehrenfeld with a focus on sustainable design. We visited the ecosign to talk to Professor Karin-Simone Fuhs to find out more about the development of the academy since it was established in 1994.

Category: Ecological Product and Service Design, Shaping Society, Social Design & Arts, Sustainable design made in NRW / Keyword: , , , / 30. December 2016

Das gute Ding – work

Das gute Ding

“Das Gute Ding” is a designer collective from Düsseldorf that initiates and implements design projects with attitude. They have received the distinction of “German cultural and creative pilot 2016”.

Category: Ecological Product and Service Design, Shaping Society, Sustainable design made in NRW / Keyword: , , , / 1. December 2016

List of categories

Carmen Zirngibl

Facts

Designerin: Carmen Zirngibl
Label: MCL I coffee dregs
Bereich: Upcycling Design
gegründet: 2015
Ort: Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Website: mycookerylog.wordpress.com

Kurzvorstellung

Die My Cookery Log® I coffee dregs Editionen stehen für Designprodukte aus dem, was durch das Aufbrühen von Kaffee an Abfall entsteht – dem Kaffeesatz.

Die Wohnaccessoires wie Schalen und Lampen aus Kaffeesatz – die MCL® I coffee dregs – spiegeln ein formal archaisch-organisches Design wider. Die natürlichen Braunnuancen, die durch den Kaffeesatz entstehen, gemixt mit edlen Kupfer- und Goldauflagen, lassen die Objekte in puristischer Weise wirken. Jedes Objekt ist ein Unikat, nicht nur weil das Ausgangsprodukt ein Naturprodukt ist, das sich stets in leicht unterschiedlicher Farbausprägung präsentiert, sondern auch weil jedes Objekt handgemacht ist und sich dadurch jede Form neu erfindet.

Upcycling – die Weiterentwicklung von Recycling

Recycling, das Wiederverwerten von Abfallprodukten bzw. das Herstellen von (zumeist minderwertigeren) Produkten daraus, stand gegen Ende des letzten Jahrhunderts für Nachhaltigkeit. Upcycling, die Schaffung neuer umweltfreundlicher, ästhetischer Gebrauchsgegenstände aus Abfallprodukten und damit die Schaffung von Werten bei gleichzeitiger Müllvermeidung und dem achtsamen Umgang mit Ressourcen ist im 21. Jahrhundert die logische Weiterentwicklung des Konzepts des Recyclings.

Dass man gebrauchtes Plastik, Kleidung oder Papier zu neuen Produkten veredeln kann, ist hinlänglich ausprobiert. Wie sieht das aber mit Abfall aus, der beim täglichen Kochen und Essen entsteht? Kann man auch solche, organischen Küchenabfälle nicht nur kompostieren, also recyceln, sondern möglicherweise auch upcyceln, also aufwerten und Alltagsdesign daraus machen?

Diese Frage ließ mich nicht mehr los und mündete im Frühjahr 2015 in ein konkretes Projekt mit dem Ziel, aus Kaffeesatz nachhaltige und formschöne Werkstücke herzustellen.

Konzept des Upcycling von organischem Material

Organischer Abfall, der beim Kochen und Essen entsteht, kann – auf den ersten Blick betrachtet – bestenfalls kompostiert und als Dünger verwendet werden. Dies ist ja auch die ‚Bestimmung‘ von organischem Material, nämlich, dass es vergeht und so wieder als Ressource für neues Wachstum zur Verfügung steht.

Täglich werden Massen an Kaffeesatz ‚produziert‘. Der Rohstoff dafür – die Kaffeebohne – wird unter Verbrauch von riesigen und wertvollen Ressourcen wie Wasser und Energie produziert und transportiert. Das Aufbrühen und Genießen des Kaffees ist eine Sache von Minuten. Im Kaffeesatz stecken dann noch reichlich wertvolle Inhaltsstoffe, die zur Düngung bestens geeignet sind, und dennoch: die ‚Lebensdauer‘ von Kaffee steht in keiner Relation zum Aufwand der Herstellung.

Kann man vielleicht eine funktionale ‚Zwischenstufe‘ vor dem Kompostieren für den Kaffeesatz einfügen, die neben der Aufwertung des Materials auch einem nachhaltigen und ästhetischen Anspruch genügt? Diese Überlegungen waren maßgeblich bei der Entscheidung, Kaffeesatz als Material zu nehmen, um daraus nachhaltiges Alltagsdesign zu entwerfen.

Von Anfang an war klar, dass der Kaffeesatz mit natürlichen Bindemitteln, idealerweise ebenfalls Abfallstoffen, zunächst formbar gemacht wird und anschließend mit möglichst geringem Energieaufwand verfestigt wird. Dabei sollte die Option der Kompostierbarkeit gewahrt bleiben.

MCL® l coffee dregs – Schalen und Lampen aus Kaffeesatz

Die Herausforderung bei der Umsetzung des Projekts  MCL l coffee dregs bestand zum einen darin, eine Rezeptur zur Bindung des Kaffeesatzes zu entwickeln und nachfolgend einen Prozess zur Stabilisierung und Härtung zu etablieren. Dies immer im Kontext, dass daraus Design-Objekte für den Alltag entstehen sollen.

Für mich als Biologin war das eine ganz spannende Phase des Projekts, weil sich meine Kreativität auf höchst interessante Weise mit meinem naturwissenschaftlichen Background assoziieren ließ.

Mit der MCL l coffee dregs edition N°1 habe ich im Sommer 2015 die erste Kollektion, bestehend aus verschiedensten dekorativen Schalen vorgestellt. Seit der Einführung wurde der Herstellungsprozess kontinuierlich optimiert, darüber hinaus realisierte ich einige weitere Ideen für Objekte aus Kaffeesatz.

Mit der MCL l coffee dregs edition N°2 – Lichtblicke aus Kaffeesatz wurden in diesem Sommer erstmals Lampen aus Kaffeesatz präsentiert. Die ‚Wende-Lampen‘ – der hochwertige Messingsockel kann von beiden Seiten in die Lampe geschraubt werden – verstehen sich als logische Fortsetzung des Projekts, aus organischem Material nachhaltiges Design zu entwerfen.

Sämtliche MCL l coffee dregs Objekte sind handgemachte Unikate, denn der Ausgansstoff Kaffeesatz ist ein Naturprodukt, das sich immer einzigartig verhält und unterschiedliche Farbnuancen und Oberflächenstrukturen ausbildet. Was jedoch stets bleibt, ist, dass ganz im Sinne von verantwortlichem Umgang mit Ressourcen die Werkstücke am Ende ihrer Lebensphase kompostierbar sind und somit noch einmal einer weiteren Funktion, nämlich der des Düngers zugeführt werden. Daraus kann dann wieder etwas Neues erwachsen und der Kreis schließt sich erneut – ganz im Sinne der nachhaltigen Weiterentwicklung von Recycling im 21. Jahrhundert.

alle Fotos: Carmen Zirngibl

Ministerium NRW

cnr_logo_ohne-rand

Autor*in

Carmen Zirngibl

Carmen Zirngibl ist Naturwissenschaftlerin und beschäftigt sich mit den Möglichkeiten aus organischem Material, das beim Kochen und Essen anfällt, nachhaltige und ästhetische Designstücke zu fertigen. Ihr erstes Projekt - Upcycling von Kaffeesatz – hat sie mit der MCL I coffee dregs edition umgesetzt.

Weitere Beiträge

Norbert Krause: Radldruckmaschine.

Norbert Krause

Norbert Krause entwickelt Konzepte, die die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung befördern. Neue Perspektiven, reger Austausch und Spaß stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt.

Thema: Gesellschaft gestalten, Nachhaltiges Design made in NRW / Schlagwort: , , , , / 20. Dezember 2016

creativeNRW CSR Workshop

CSR Workshop: Nachhaltig zum Erfolg

Welche Chancen verantwortungsvolles Wirtschaften für Unternehmen bietet, zeigt ein kostenloser CSR Workshop am 3. Mai 2017 in Köln, zu dem CREATIVE.NRW in Kooperation mit dem CSR Hub NRW und dem Digital Hub Cologne herzlich einlädt.

Thema: Festival für Design und Nachhaltigkeit, Gesellschaft gestalten, Nachhaltiges Design made in NRW / Schlagwort: , , , / 10. April 2017

Zur Themenübersicht