ökoRAUSCH Festival for Design & Sustainability 28.08.–24.09.2020 at the MAKK

Norbert Krause

Facts

Label: krauses
Field:
Project design
Founded:
2011
Location: Mönchengladbach, Germany
Website: krauses.info
Facebook: facebook.com/krausesinfo

Norbert Krause’s project sees itself as a catalyst. They speed up societal processes or make them possible to begin with. Always with a douse of humour and a lot of fun. Honest! With his label krauses, Norbert Krause offers his work to people from urban and rural areas. Depending on the size of the project, he also counts on the support of colleagues from his network to get the job done. In 2015 he was awarded the title “Cultural and Creative Pilot” by the German Federal Competence Centre and in 2016 he received the German bicycle prize.

Norbert Krause: Blaumacherei
Blaumacherei. Or the “Blue maker”.

Krause’s projects help to develop perspectives, to facilitate exchange or to resolve conflicts. Another aspect of his work is getting people to identify with their city. In 2016 he worked on an assignment from the Mönchengladbach textile centre to raise awareness about their unique collection of synthetic dyes, which is the only one of its kind world-wide. In his Krause-like way, he chose one of the thousands of colours, indigo blue, and started up a micro-business, the Blaumacherei, or the Blue Maker. He has a workbike stand that he takes from weekly market to weekly market to offer customers the very best service, dying everything blue that people want him to.

Another project on wheels, although far less mobile, is his bicycle printing machine that celebrated its premier in 2016 at Munich’s Tollwood Festival. Anyone who has ever ridden a bike in the rain without a mudguard knows the water splatter marks that the back wheel makes on your back. This is the principle of the bicycle printing machine, which allows you to use your own body strength to make t-shirts – in bright colours instead of muddy brown.

Norbert Krause: Bicycle Piece For Orchestra.
Bicycle Piece For Orchestra. Photo: Stefan Völker
Norbert Krause: The bicycle printing machine.
The bicycle printing machine. Photo: Norbert Krause
Norbert Krause: Shopping Trolley Championship
The “Shopping Trolley Championship”. Photo: Norbert Krause

During the European Mobility Week, Krause invited people to take part in a shopping trolley championship in order to bring the often forgotten mobility form of walking (possibly because it’s so trivial) into the limelight. Handcarts have long been substituted by shopping trolleys, which in German are affectionately called “onion Porsches”. With this kind of proverbial car boot for walkers, you can do most every-day grocery shopping. During the contest, they wanted to see how much you can actually fit into an onion Porsche – and how fast you can pull it.

Krause first dedicated himself to the issue of mobility during his project “200 Days of a Bicycle City”. The project’s focus wasn’t the bike lanes, but the bikers. In 2013, the very car-friendly community of Mönchengladbach played bicycle city for 200 days while switching up effect and cause. In 2014 and 2015, the project was prolonged as an official city project. Since then, different actors and institutions have eagerly joined the bicycle cause under the motto “demonstration, participation and do-it-yourself”, from a pant-maker to yoga teacher, from the culture office to the symphony orchestra.

In workshops and lectures, he shares his experience of getting citizens and institutions involved in their city.

Norbert Krause: 200 Days of a Bicycle City
200 Days of a Bicycle City finale. Photo: Stefan Völker

Ministerium NRW

cnr_logo_ohne-rand

Author

Norbert Krause: Feld

Norbert Krause

Norbert Krause gets people to think differently. Krause, born in 1980 in Mönchengladbach, is a concept artist and socio-designer who brings public space to life, for example in the 1m² radio station Eicken. He is teaching the town of Mönchengladbach how to ride a bike with his project 200 Days of a Bicycle City. Photo: Stefan Völker

More articles

ONYA Collective

The Onya Collective is group of architects, activists, community leaders, and volunteers who utilize community organizing principals to design public spaces that serve the needs of all of the residents of the area. We met them during our ECO DESIGN FORUM in Tel Aviv.

Category: ECO DESIGN FORUM, Shaping Society, Social Design & Arts / Keyword: , , , , , / 3. February 2017

Das gute Ding – work

Das gute Ding

“Das Gute Ding” is a designer collective from Düsseldorf that initiates and implements design projects with attitude. They have received the distinction of “German cultural and creative pilot 2016”.

Category: Ecological Product and Service Design, Shaping Society, Sustainable design made in NRW / Keyword: , , , / 1. December 2016

List of categories

Norbert Krause: Radldruckmaschine.

Norbert Krause

Norbert Krause

Facts

Label: krauses
Bereich:
Projektdesign
gegründet:
2011
Ort: Mönchengladbach, Deutschland
Website: krauses.info
Facebook: facebook.com/krausesinfo

Norbert Krauses Projekte verstehen sich als Katalysator. Sie beschleunigen gesellschaftliche Prozesse oder machen diese erst möglich. Immer mit einer Portion Humor und viel Spaß an der Sache. Ernsthaft! Unter der Marke krauses stellt Norbert Krause seine Arbeit städtischen und nichtstädtischen Akteuren zur Verfügung. Je nach Auftrag unterstützt von Mitstreiter*innen aus dem krause’schen Netzwerk. 2015 wird er vom Kompetenzzentrum Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft des Bundes mit dem Titel „Kultur- und Kreativpilot“ ausgezeichnet, 2016 bekommt er den Deutschen Fahrradpreis verliehen.

Norbert Krause:
Blaumacherei.

Krauses Projekte helfen Perspektiven zu entwickeln, Austausch zu ermöglichen oder Konflikte zu überwinden. Auch das Entwickeln von Identifikation mit der eigenen Stadt oder ihren Aspekten ist Teil seiner Arbeit. 2016 ist er im Auftrag des Mönchengladbacher Textiltechnikums unterwegs, um auf deren weltweit einzigartige Sammlung an synthetischen Farbstoffen hinzuweisen. Auf krause Art sucht sich der Künstler eine Farbe aus tausenden heraus, das Indigo-Blau, und eröffnete ein Mikrounternehmen, die Blaumacherei. Mit einem Lastenradstand zieht er von Wochenmarkt zu Wochenmarkt und färbt in bester Dienstleistungsmanier blau, was die Menschen blau gefärbt haben wollen.

Auch auf einem Fahrrad aufgebaut, aber weitaus weniger mobil, ist die Radldruckmaschine, die kürzlich auf dem Münchner Tollwood-Festival ihre Premiere gefeiert hat. Jeder, der bei Regen einmal auf einem Fahrrad ohne Schutzblech gesessen hat, kennt die Spuren, die so am Rücken entstehen. Dieses Prinzip nutzt die Radldruckmaschine, die es erlaubt, durch Körperkraft T-Shirts zu gestalten; natürlich in leuchtenden Farben statt hässlichem schlammbraun.

Norbert Krause: Bicycle Piece For Orchestra.
Bicycle Piece For Orchestra. Foto: Stefan Völker
Norbert Krause: Radldruckmaschine.
Radldruckmaschine. Foto: Norbert Krause
Norbert Krause: Zwiebelporsche-Meistserschaft.
Zwiebelporsche-Meistserschaft. Foto: Norbert Krause

Um die oft vergessene, weil scheinbar so banale, Mobilitätsform des zu-Fuß-gehens mehr ins Rampenlicht zu befördern, lädt Krause im Rahmen der Europäischen Mobilitätswoche zur vermutlich ersten Zwiebelporsche-Meisterschaft. Was früher der Handkarren war ist heute der Einkaufstrolley, auch liebevoll Zwiebelporsche genannt. Mit einem solchen Kofferraum für Fußgänger ist es möglich die meisten Alltagseinkäufe auch zu Fuß zu erledigen. Wie viel in so einen Zwiebelporsche hineinpasst und wie schnell man mit so einem Gefährt unterwegs sein kann wurde im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs getestet.

Erstmals mit dem Thema Mobilität befasst sich Krause im Rahmen von „200 Tage Fahrradstadt“. Das Projekt legt den Fokus auf den Radfahrer, nicht auf den Radweg. 2013 in Mönchengladbach gestartet, vertauscht 200 Tage Fahrradstadt Ursache und Wirkung und spielt 200 Tage lang Fahrradstadt in der vom Auto geprägten Kommune. 2014 und 2015 wird das Projekt als offizielle Beauftragung der Stadt Mönchengladbach fortgeführt. Seither lassen sich unter der Maßgabe „Vormachen Mitmachen Selbermachen“ bereitwillig die unterschiedlichsten Akteure und Institutionen mit dem Thema Fahrrad verknüpfen – vom Hosenfabrikanten bis zur Yoga-Lehrerin, vom Kulturbüro bis zur Sinfoniorchester.

Seine Erfahrungen rund um die Aktivierung von Bürgern und Institutionen gibt er seither in Workshops und Vorträgen weiter.

Norbert Krause:
Finale 200 Tage Fahrradstadt. Foto: Stefan Völker

Ministerium NRW

cnr_logo_ohne-rand

Autor*in

Norbert Krause: Feld

Norbert Krause

Norbert Krause ist Animateur zum Andersdenken. Der 1980 in Mönchengladbach geborene Konzeptkünstler und Sozio-Designer belebt unter anderem mit dem 1m²-Sender Radio Eicken öffentlichen Raum und bringt mit 200 Tage Fahrradstadt Mönchengladbach das Radfahren bei. Foto: Stefan Völker

Weitere Beiträge

Aus Städten werden Farmen

Sabrina Großkopp ist freiberufliche Industrie-Designerin. In ihrem Masterstudium erarbeitet sie zurzeit transdisziplinär Szenarien für Städte, in denen ausreichend Nahrung für alle Einwohner produziert wird.

Thema: Nachhaltiges Design made in NRW, Ökologisches Produkt- & Service Design, Profile Design & Kunst / Schlagwort: , , , / 13. November 2016

germanmade.

Das Düsseldorfer Design-Label germanmade. verwendet hauptsächlich hochwertige und natürliche Materialien, wie pflanzlich gegerbtes Leder, Wollfilz und Holz.

Thema: Nachhaltiges Design made in NRW, Ökologisches Produkt- & Service Design, Profile Design & Kunst / Schlagwort: , , , , , , / 19. Dezember 2016

Zur Themenübersicht