ökoRAUSCH Festival for Design & Sustainability 28.08.–24.09.2020 at the MAKK
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography

Sabine Stein

Documentary photography

– being part of developmental and design projects abroad using the example of the travelling exhibition “CRAFT ACT – Philippine Design in Transition” –
Back when I was writing my thesis in Lebanon, it was clear to me that documentary photography would continue to be the focus of my attention even after finishing university. Inspired by the documentary photographer Joakim Eskildsen, I consider myself to be a facilitator who visually transports content through the medium of photography.

I came up with the idea of a photography project in the Philippines through my fellow student and friend Anna Kamphues, who had already worked there as a communications designer for the AFOS Foundation for Entrepreneurial Development Cooperation. There, she worked in an occupational training project with artisans and designers. This provided me with a chance to work within a project and network that had already been established as well as work with an NGO on-site.

The relationship of trust and the contact to individuals that Anna had established through her work with the AFOS Foundation were of great benefit to my photography. I was able to start working closely with the people right away, be it on the abaca farm in Guihulngan, with the weavers in La Libertad or watching paper beads being made in Iloilo City. I not only documented the work being done, but also the interpersonal relationships and everyday realities of the artisans and designers. The pictures were presented in the travelling exhibition “CRAFT ACT – Philippine Design in Transition” in North Rhine-Westphalia in 2014 and 2015. As a sub-project of the travelling exhibition, the photos enable the observer individual access to the lives and work of the people in the photographs. At the same time, the pictures in their entirety act as a visual link between handcrafted products, background information and cinematic short profiles, which were also shown during the exhibition.

Scholarship for advanced artistic training

My stay in the Philippines was completely funded by a scholarship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for advanced artistic training for university graduates. Applicants can win the scholarship up to two times in the first five years after graduation.

During my stay in the Philippines, I was also able to continue working on my portfolio, which is how I was able to get an assignment in cooperation with the AFOS Foundation taking photos for a fair trade project. Since then, my photographs from the travelling exhibition have been on display with the project “HoliCOW” in the Philippines.

ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Reynaldo D. with a basket he just finished. Guihulngan, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Elsie T. working on a basket made from dyed abaca rope. Guihulngan, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
An agriculturist working with abaca leaves to produce long hard fibre. La Libertad, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Rope production from recycled rice bags. Guihulngan, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Chona S. making an abaca rope. La Libertad, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Vito S. in his office. Cebu City, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Freshly harvested abaca fibre being hung out to dry. Guihulngan, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Dyeing of braiding materials. Guihulngan, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
Handcrafted beads made out of recycled paper. Iloilo City, 2014
ökoRAUSCH Blog – HoliCow Sabine Stein Photography
A bird’s eye view of Cebu City, 2014

For more information please see:

holicow.ph  (Background information – HoliCOW)
afos-stiftung.de  (Background information – AFOS-Foundation)
sabinestein.com  (Photo documentation – Sabine Stein)

Merken

Author

Sabine Stein

Sabine studied photo design in Dortmund, Germany and fine art in Melbourne, Australia. With her thesis “Beirut. Silent spaces” she was a finalist for the CNN Journalist Award 2013 and she has been working as a freelance photographer and photo editor since 2012 in Germany and abroad, her focus being documentary photography. She is currently on a DAAD scholarship in the Middle East, using photography to deal with the political conflict and she is doing a workshop on documentary photography with children and adolescents in Palestine.

More articles

ökoRAUSCH Blog – Nika Rams use less

Nika Rams

With her own label Nika Rams does several interdisciplinary projects in the fields of product and concept design. She has been with ökoRAUSCH since the very beginning.

Category: Ecological Product and Service Design, Profiles Design & Art, Sustainable design made in NRW / Keyword: , , , , , , , / 28. November 2016

ökoRAUSCH Blog – Craddle to craddle

Cradle to Cradle conference

The third Cradle to Cradle Conference in Lühneburg was full of positive energy, versatil ideas. Manufacturers were called upon to be more environmentally and socially responsible.

Category: Ecological Product and Service Design, Profiles Design & Art / Keyword: , , / 9. October 2016

List of categories

+ + + Das nächste ökoRAUSCH Festival findet 2019 statt.

Sabine Stein

Dokumentarfotografie

– als Bestandteil von entwicklungspolitischen und gestalterischen Projekten im Ausland, am Beispiel der Wanderausstellung „CRAFT ACT – Philippinische Manufaktur im Wandel“ –

Schon während der Anfertigung meiner Diplomarbeit im Libanon war mir klar, dass auch nach dem Abschluss des Studiums weiterhin die dokumentarische Fotografie im Zentrum meiner Aufmerksamkeit stehen wird. Inspiriert von Dokumentarfotografen wie Joakim Eskildsen, sehe ich mich als Fotografin in der Rolle einer Vermittlerin, die mit dem Medium der Fotografie Inhalte visuell transportiert.

Auf die Idee, ein fotografisches Projekt auf den Philippinen umzusetzen, kam ich erstmals durch meine damalige Kommilitonin und Freundin Anna Kamphues, die vor Ort bereits als Kommunikationsdesignerin für die AFOS Stiftung für Unternehmerische Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in einem Berufsbildungsprojekt mit Handwerker*innen und Designer*innen zusammenarbeitete. Für mich bot sich hier die Möglichkeit, in ein bestehendes Projekt und Netzwerk hineinzukommen und direkt vor Ort mit einer NGO zusammenzuarbeiten.

Das Vertrauensverhältnis und die Kontakte zu den Menschen, die sich durch die Arbeit der AFOS Stiftung und Anna vor Ort über die Zeit bereits aufgebaut hatten, kamen meinen Fotografien sehr zu Gute. Ich konnte direkt sehr nah mit den Menschen zusammenarbeiten; ob in der Abacafarm in Guihulngan, mit den Flechthandwerkern in La Libertad oder beim Papierperlen herstellen in Iloilo City. Ich dokumentierte die Arbeit, aber auch das Zwischenmenschliche und die Alltagsrealitäten der Handwerker*innen und Designer*innen. Die Fotografien wurden in der Wanderausstellung „CRAFT ACT-Philippinische Manufaktur im Wandel“ in NRW 2014/2015 präsentiert. Als Teilprojekt der Wanderausstellung ermöglichen die Fotos einen individuellen Zugang zu den Lebens- und Arbeitswelten der Menschen. Zugleich funktionieren sie in ihrer Gesamtheit als ein visuelles Bindeglied zwischen handgefertigten Produkten, Hintergrundinformationen und filmischen Kurzportraits, die ebenfalls in der Ausstellung gezeigt wurden.

Stipendium zur künstlerischen Weiterbildung

Finanziert habe ich meinen gesamten Aufenthalt mit einem Stipendium des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) zur „künstlerischen Weiterbildung im Ausland“, das Absolvent*innen nach Abschluss eines kreativen Studienganges bis zu zweimal innerhalb der ersten fünf Jahre bekommen können.

Während meiner Zeit auf den Philippinen konnte ich zudem weitere freie Arbeiten für mein Portfolio schaffen. So ergab sich aus der Zusammenarbeit mit der AFOS Stiftung ein Fotoauftrag zum Thema Fairer Handel. Meine Fotografien der Wanderausstellung werden seither auf den Philippinen im Zusammenhang mit dem Projekt „HoliCOW“ ausgestellt.

Reynaldo D. mit seinem soeben fertig gestellten Korb. Guihulngan, 2014
Elsie T. arbeitet an einem Korb aus gefärbten Abaca Seilen. Guihulngan, 2014
Landwirt bearbeitet die Blätter der Abaca Pflanze zur Gewinnung von langen Hartfasern. La Libertad, 2014
Herstellung eines Seils aus recycelten Reissäcken. Guihulngan, 2014
Chona S. beim Fertigen eines Abaca Seils. La Libertad, 2014
Vito S. in seinem Büro. Cebu City, 2014
Frisch geerntete Abaca Fasern werden zum Trocknen aufgehängt. Guihulngan, 2014
Färbestation von Flechtmaterialien. Guihulngan, 2014
Handgefertigte Perlen aus recycelten Papieren. Iloilo City, 2014
Aussicht. Cebu City, 2014

Mehr Informationen unter:

holicow.ph  (Hintergrundinformationen – HoliCOW)
afos-stiftung.de  (Hintergrundinformationen – AFOS-Stiftung)
sabinestein.com  (Fotodokumentationen – Sabine Stein)

Autor*in

Sabine Stein

Sabine studierte Fotodesign in Dortmund und Fine Art in Melbourne. Mit ihrer Diplomarbeit "Beirut. Silent spaces" wurde sie Finalistin beim CNN Journalist Award 2013 und arbeitet seit 2012 als freiberufliche Fotografin und Fotoredakteurin mit dem Schwerpunkt Dokumentarfotografie im In- und Ausland. Als Stipendiatin des DAAD setzt sie sich aktuell im Nahen Osten fotografisch mit dem politischen Konflikt auseinander und arbeitet zusammen mit Kindern und Jugendlichen in Palästina in einem Workshop zur Dokumentarfotografie.

Weitere Beiträge

creativeNRW CSR Workshop

CSR Workshop: Nachhaltig zum Erfolg

Welche Chancen verantwortungsvolles Wirtschaften für Unternehmen bietet, zeigt ein kostenloser CSR Workshop am 3. Mai 2017 in Köln, zu dem CREATIVE.NRW in Kooperation mit dem CSR Hub NRW und dem Digital Hub Cologne herzlich einlädt.

Thema: Festival für Design und Nachhaltigkeit, Gesellschaft gestalten, Nachhaltiges Design made in NRW / Schlagwort: , , , / 10. April 2017

ONYA Collective

The Onya Collective is group of architects, activists, community leaders, and volunteers who utilize community organizing principals to design public spaces that serve the needs of all of the residents of the area. We met them during our ECO DESIGN FORUM in Tel Aviv.

Thema: ECO DESIGN FORUM, Gesellschaft gestalten, Social Design & Arts / Schlagwort: , , , , , / 3. Februar 2017

Zur Themenübersicht